By News Report

WASHINGTON, D.C. | Congresswoman Elise Stefanik has led the entire New York Republican delegation in introducing the Stop Enabling Repeat Violence and Endangering (SERVE) Our Communities Act.

Since taking effect in 2020, New York State’s bail reform laws have eliminated cash bail and expanded pre-trial release for a variety of misdemeanor and felony charges.

This bill provides an incentive for states like New York to adopt policies that hold repeat offenders accountable and bolster public safety. Specifically, the SERVE Our Communities Act would authorize $10 million in anti-recidivism grant funding from the Department of Justice for states that have laws directing courts to consider dangerousness when determining bail or pretrial release.

To receive grant money, states with these laws must also take steps to hire and retain law enforcement or administer a public awareness campaign that combats anti-police sentiment and improves community-police relations.

“In the face of the Far Left’s calls to ‘Defund the Police’ and dangerous bail reform that puts more violent criminals on the street, I am proud to lead this investment in our law enforcement and strengthen public safety. Far Left Albany’s reckless and dangerous bail reform policies have already put our communities at risk. My legislation will incentivize New York State to implement policies that correct their massive oversight and hold repeat offenders accountable. I’m proud to stand united with local law enforcement and our community members to work to keep Upstate New York and the North Country, and our state of New York, safe,” Stefanik said Jan. 13.

Jefferson County Sheriff Peter R. Barnett said “Bail reform has proven that career criminals and offenders who don’t care have made a mockery of the New York State Court System, placed stress on our local communities, and burdened local Law Enforcement agencies at a time when recruitment is so low. Judicial discretion is a must at the time of arraignment because each case should be based on its own merits. If this continues then recidivism will flourish.”

Stefanik was joined by Representatives Claudia Tenney (NY-24), Andrew Garbarino (NY-02), Nicole Malliotakis (NY-11), Nicholas LaLota (NY-01), George Santos (NY-03), Anthony D’Esposito (NY-04), Mike Lawler (NY-17), Marc Molinaro (NY-19), Brandon Williams (NY-22), and Nick Langworthy (NY-23) in introducing this bill.

The legislation has been endorsed by the National District Attorneys Association, Fraternal Order of Police, National Association of Police Organizations, and Major Cities Chiefs Association.


Read more on Sun Community News here.